Parish Council



Sydenham Parish Council usually meets on the first Thursday of each month in the Old School Rooms, Brookstones at 8pm, and these meetings are open to the public. 

The current parish councillors are:                                Paul Stancliffe
Roy Harrison
Alison Isherwood
Janet Potts                                                                                      Rachel Blake  

The chairman and vice chairman are elected each May at the Annual Parish Meeting. 

If you are interested in becoming a councillor for the parish please contact the clerk via for further information.  Elections are being held on 7th May 2015, and all nomination papers need to be obtained, completed and returned to SODC offices no later than 4pm on 9th April 2015.                                                                             

The responsibilities of the council are varied and include:
  • The parish council is consulted on all planning applications within the parish.

  • Liaising with the county council on highways and public transport matters affecting the parish.

  • Liaising with the police on matters of concern within the parish.

  • Liaising with the county council regarding footpaths and other rights of way.

  • Looking after the parish e.g. grass cutting on the areas of village greens and maintaining the playing field.

  • Monitoring and actioning drainage, ditches and verges throughout the parish as necessary.

  • Provision and maintenance of dog hygiene bins.

  • Organising litter blitzes and arranging for road cleaning.

  • Keeping the village notice boards up to date.

  • Financially supporting the village newsletter.

The council income comes mainly from the District Council and the current precept is 8000 pa as of 2014/2015.

Planning applications can be viewed via the South Oxfordshire District Council website, either via the interactive map or by the planning application register.

In accordance with the Parish Council's code of conduct, effective from 1 July 2012, all councillors are required to register their interests, as detailed on this link.

Information available from Sydenham Parish Council under the model publication scheme can be seen here.

Everyone has a duty to safeguard children, young people and vulnerable adults.  The Parish Council's Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy can be seen here.